How Can We Help You?

Overtime pay laws, Overtime Lawyer Wage Attorney > California Overtime Laws > When is my employer required to pay me overtime under California overtime laws?

OVERTIME PAY LAWS

 

 

Search to Learn about Employee Overtime Pay Laws

Under California overtime laws, employers are required to pay employees overtime for working: 

  • More than 40 hours in a single workweek
  • More than 8 hours in a single workday 
  • 7 days in a row in the same workweek

Notice that California overtime laws differ from overtime laws under the Fair Labor Standards Act in that employers are required to pay employees additional compensation for working more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in  a week whereas federal overtime laws under the FLSA only require overtime for working more than 40 hours in a week. 

Last updated on May 7, 2012 by Employment Lawyers BNB